This year is special for me. It marks many big changes in my approach to web development including closing down a website I started when studying at Uni. I enjoyed building, re-building, and re-building that website again. I made money, I made mistakes, I learned a lot, I made more mistakes and I finally understood everything. So I closed the site and it wasn’t hard to do because when something is the right thing…to do. Well, it just makes a person feel good. Don’t you love making the right decision?

WWW, a cliche, and a Birth!

Doubt I’ll ever type a sub-header like that again!

I’ve been a student in my own classroom and my tutor was the World Wide Web, pretty big tutor! But most of my time was spent learning the WordPress API and creating WP plugins. Some are good and some I’d rather not talk about…please! My focus on WordPress kept me within a working environment that I created for myself and didn’t adjust very much. It was a bubble, to be honest, and the only big change was the cloud that allowed me to backup my work better. I use the low-cost service of Google Drive. The only professional repository I really knew was at WordPress.org because that was the destination for anything I created.

Then 2017 happened, the year when I closed a 10-year-old site and deleted years of blogging. I had decided to stop growing a business, it was nuts, it asked too much of me, too much time was spent building a brand and not enough time was allowed for doing what I love. Like what I’m doing right now, typing this. I started individual blogs on WordPress.com and ditched most of my older plugins. It’s a bit cliche but the whole thing was a birth…the birth of a professional Web Developer.

I started individual blogs on WordPress.com and ditched most of my older plugins. It’s a bit cliche but the whole thing was a birth…the birth of a WordPress freelancer. I now focus on my blogs and portfolio. I’m happier because my own name is now the brand and everything I do builds my name up more.

Welcome to GitHub, Ryan Bayne!

I had some great ideas for growing my own site and had built a back-end in WordPress for managing an online business. But that site is gone!

The moment I decided to close WebTechGlobal.co.uk a whole new approach to working suddenly became clear. I visioned an approach that had little overhead and allowed me to grow a network that didn’t even rely on income.

  • Free blogs on WordPress.com
  • Free repositories on GitHub
  • Free marketing through social media.
  • Free file sharing on Google Drive and Slack.
  • Free chat on Discord and Skype.

The big change was GitHub. I never visioned GitHub fitting into my daily routine but now I’m finally a GitHub user. My delay in making use of this type of service might have cost me. It was a mistake and in the image of my GitHub activity chart, you can see when I realized my mistake. Around February 2017 when I created my first repository. I eventually got into the full swing of it and I’m now using the site regularly.

Ryan Bayne now using GitHub

I looked at this chart to today and I realized how important it is considering how many years had passed without the use of a professional repository other than WordPress.org which doesn’t offer project management services.I’ve marked the beginning of 2017 and as you can see, there was no use of GitHub at the end of last year. Now, I’m a keen user and it’s an important change for many reasons. I expect this graph to have a lot of dark green on the left in a 12 months time. This then becomes a key part of my portfolio because it’s evidence of my availability, dedication, frequency, and effort.

So I’ve marked the beginning of 2017 on the chat and blogged about this special time for me. As you can see, there was no use of GitHub at the end of last year. Now, I’m a keen user and it’s an important change for many reasons. I expect this graph to have a lot of dark green on the left in a 12 months time. This then becomes a key part of my portfolio because it’s evidence of my availability, dedication, frequency, and effort.

I welcome you to visit my new GitHub profile, maybe follow me or to avoid getting too many updates just click on the star for my projects that have some interest to you. Thank you.

 

